The way that Search Party works is that it registers your Beagle on the Search Party list. This list is made up of all the Beagle users who have also registered for search party internationally.
Once a Beagle has been reported lost, all the apps of the other Beagle users on the Search Party list will be anonymously on the lookout for your Beagle behind the scenes. Meaning that if your Beagle comes within Bluetooth range of someone who has the Beagle app on their phone and is registered for Search Party, the app will recognize your lost Beagle and will send you an alert via email telling you the area where your Beagle made a connection with the other user.
This is a great back-up tool for lost Beagles, but is not a 100% guaranteed way to find your Beagle as your Beagle may not be in an area where another Beagle user gets close to.
A few important things to note about Search Party:
• Your Beagle must be registered for Search Party before it gets lost, while it is still connected to the app. If you registered your Beagle for Search Party when the Beagle was already lost, the app would not be connected to the Beagle so there would be no information for Search Party and it would not work.
• You must tap “Report as Lost” on your Beagle app home screen for your Beagle to be registered as lost in the Search Party network.